When placing an order, Postmates will verify your card by placing a temporary authorization (temp auth) on your account.
Still seeing two payments on your bank account? Don’t worry — it’s not an additional charge. Here’s how it works: To guarantee payment for your order, we authorize your card to ensure it’s valid and there are sufficient funds available to place your order. This is a common practice used as an extra layer of security for all parties.
This temporary authorization, which is typically slightly more than your initial order price, expires within 1-3 days of your completed delivery. You will only be charged for your order total. The final charge amount will be posted within 24 hours, and the total will include the name of the merchant or restaurant you ordered from. After processing (within 1-3 days), your bank statement will appear similar to the below, showing the original order charge and reversal of the temp auth:
This also occurs when you add a new payment method. After adding the new payment method, you will see a $1 temporary authorization hold to make sure the card is active. The authorization hold is reversed within a few days, depending on your bank policy.
Also, if your delivery is cancelled, the temp auth will be reversed within a few business days. Temporary authorizations apply to Apple Pay or Android Pay as well.
You’ll see a temporary authorization on all Postmates orders.